Posted by: DD | February 10, 2008

MITHYA

Yesterday was pretty hectic, though I enjoyed pretty much of it.

After a long time, I was out for most of the day. Not that I haven’t been out but just that lately all my outings have been with a group. This time, I went out for myself. Met 2 of my friends and had lunch with one and dinner with the other. The day ended with a late night party which I skillfully cut short in between to hit the bed sooner than expected.

Yesterday evening, I saw the subject movie. “MITHYA” and after leaving the theatre, I was one happy person.

I always liked Ranvir Shorey for his acting skills but his performance in Mithya totally blew me away. He was simply fantastic and fabulous or rather FANTABULOUS 🙂 . His character, which was very challenging to play and a landmark for any actor’s career, was crafted with great effort and he did full justice to it by using his versatility.

The character had a very varied role ranging from struggle to fluency, comedy to seriousness, anger to love and helplessness to comfortability. It was a role which required extreme adjustments in a very short span of time having constantly to fluctuate through the character’s mood, pitch and scale. Ranvir gives one of his finest performances and made the character look common, real and practical.

Rajat Kapoor does a fine job with the direction though it could have been a bit better.

The part I liked the most was movie’s end. I am glad that Rajat decided to give it a practical end and not like other improbable endings. I won’t write much about this here as it could spoil the mood of one who still hasn’t seen the movie.

In short, don’t have great expectation from the movie but surely watch it for:

  • Ranvir’s finest performance.
  • The range of emotions the movie offers in just 2 hours of time. (Yes, its a 2 hour movie 🙂 )
  • The practical story line the director manages to keep in case of such a bizarre situation.

Also, for the first time in my life, I bought some books (I know, but finally I did 😀 ) namely:

  • The Elephant, The Tiger and The Cellphone : Reflections on India in the 21st Century by Shashi Tharoor
  • In Spite of the Gods : The Strange Rise of Modern India by Edward Luce

Will be writing about them soon. Keep watching 🙂

Responses

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. “blew me off”… hmm … you might want to rethink that dude.. look it up. i’d suggest that u go with “blew me away”

  3. @ Mustafa
    yes dude, you are write. The usuage is wrong and has been corrected :). Thanks for the same.

    @ Randy
    I am glad you liked it. Hope to see your comments again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

