Posted by: DD | February 25, 2008

Ek Akela NAL

Yesterday was good.

We (me and my colleagues at Cerillion Technologies) went to an orphanage on the outskirts of Pune by the name of City of Child and after spending a day with the children, aged 2-15, I learned a lot.

One peculiar thing I noticed about the children was that they were happy.

What ? Did I hear “happy”? What’s peculiar about being happy ?

Well, the answer lies in the fact that they were happy in spite of numerous troubles they individually faced. They were happy to be in the company of each other. They were joyful, vibrant, energetic and optimistic. How many of us posses all these qualities in present day life. Hardly a few. And this is after consideration that most of us are with good education and occupation. Still, we lack a fundamental and basic quality to be happy.

Our day with them ended on a very high note of Dance. The enthusiasm of children made our energy look lacklustre. They danced to the tune of various Hindi numbers and the happiness on their faces was unparalleled.

There are two great habits which deserve a mention when I speak of the children.

First, which was brought to my notice by a colleague of mine, is that they waited patiently till the food was served and once every one had their lunch in their plates, they did some thing we hardly ever do. They prayed. They thanked god for the food he had given them. I felt that we have taken our blessing from god for granted.

Second, is that every child washed his/her dish post lunch and a couple of very small children, no more than 5-6 years of age, picked up the mats layed for the lunch and folded them to crease before placing them in order. Then, they not play broomed the room clean, but cleaned it chirpingly. I can’t imagine one of us doing that too often.

While our way back, I saw a TAP and something struck me. I clicked a picture of the TAP and late at night, when I was comfortably resting in my bed, the picture kept coming back to me and when I regained full consciousness, written below is what I had on the notebook in front of me.

********************************************************

Ek akela nal khada, cheekh kar ye keh raha hai,
ho rahe duniya mein itne atyachaar, chupchap khada tu kyon seh raha hai |

choti choti koshish bhi, ek bada parivartan lati hai,
icchavrat ki gayi cheshtha, lakhon chehron par muskan jagati hai |
laga apna zor saara, kar sacche man se thodi mehnat
dekh asahaya bacchon ka bharosa, chakna choorhokar deh raha hai |

Ek akela nal khada, cheekh kar ye keh raha hai,
usi nirbhav se kar duniya ki seva, jaise mujhase paani beh raha hai |

kar madad ek nirbal ki, uski kismat ko de aakar,
haath thaam bichade bacche ka, de pyaar use kuch is prakaar |
bujurgon ke sang guzaar samay, de unki ek shaam savaar,
ho bharosa bhgwaan ko ki aaj bhi insaan duniya mien reh raha hai |

apne dukh se nikal bahar, anaath aashram ka chakkar laga,
janega doosron ka dukh-dard, tujase kitna jyada gehara hai |
kaam kuch aisa kar ja, ki doosaron ka dard baant sake,
tere jaane ke baad bhi log kahen, dukhiyon ki hansi mein wo aaj bhi jinda reh raha hai

Ek akela nal khada, cheekh kar ye keh raha hai, cheekh kar ye keh raha hai |

********************************************************

Responses

  1. Hey Mr Writer
    I am tired of praising you now. I think I should stop doing that n its better if u assume what m gonna say
    its just the same everytime. TOO GOOD N UNBELIVABLY FANTASTIC
    Hats of to you.
    But this was definitely not that good as u can get
    and what i liked is the theme you have choosen 4 this post.
    Seems like you have really have done an excellent thing starting this blog n I m also doing a real gud thng by being updated bout the blog….
    I guess this is enuf 4 u to understand hw gud it is.

  2. kar madad ek nirbal ki, uski kismat ko de aakar,
    haath thaam bichade bacche ka, de pyaar use kuch is prakaar |
    bujurgon ke sang guzaar samay, de unki ek shaam savaar,
    ho bharosa bhgwaan ko ki aaj bhi insaan duniya mien reh raha hai |

    HONEST!!!! I M SPEECHLESS….

  3. @Mrunalini
    thanks, seemslike u r becoming my best critic 🙂 keep up the good work.

    @Pubs!
    man, as already discussed, even I am speechless 🙂

  4. behtreen…lajawaab…a touching one indeed. 🙂

  5. The reason i read ur blog is ,so that i can learn a thing or 2,to express(i am pathetic,at it)…..Sir!!!!!
    hats off to you………excellent way of description of simple things….i started with ur budget analysis….Fabulous….keep pourin….

  6. @Asish
    Thanks dude

    @Nilesh
    Well, first of all, no need for the “Sir”.
    And ya, i’ll take that compliment and try working harder. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

