Posted by: DD | May 17, 2008

SMILE

A smile can brighten the darkest day.

I realized the significance of this saying during my recent attempt to experiment things. As many of you know, I walk to my office in morning and I have this uncanny habit to observe discreet things around. An example of such is this post of mine which I wrote on valentines day.

I love listening to music on my Motorola L7 as I walk and it makes me feel good, pep and energetic. For some time, for a change, I stopped carrying my ear-piece in search for some thing new to keep me worked up.

After experimenting it for a week, I have no hesitation in prescribing it to everyone in the world. Ladies and Gentlemen let me present to you, a new form of work-up and stay-happy dose. Please join your hands together for the star – SMILE 🙂

Ok, now don’t wonder if I have gone mad as smile is not something new. So why am I introducing it to you guys? Well, I attempt to help you see a new face of SMILE. Try the following for a couple of days and tell me is it works similarly for you as it does for me.

When you walk some distance and are alone, try greeting everyone you cross on your way with a smile. Just a smile and nothing else. No “hi”, “hello”, “Good morning/afternoon/evening” but just a smile. Initially, it may seem odd, but as you continue doing it, it will start working for you operating on Newton’s third law, “For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction“. Try it out and see for yourself! You will find that almost every person you smile at will return the gesture. The hardest part is usually being the first person to smile.

It will create happy feelings and charge you up without any extra effort. It will enrich those who receive it without making the donor any poorer. Moreover, the best part is that it is the biggest tool in interacting with complete strangers. The split second you have when you cross someone can best be utilized with a SMILE.

Seeing other people smile induces what is termed as a ‘halo’ effect, helping us to remember other happy events, feel more positive and more motivated. Its is the biggest form on non-verbal communication with many side-effects which are all positive 🙂

If you walk to some place, like work, gym, evening walk, etc, regularly and approximately at the same time of the day, chance are great that in some time, you will end up with a new set of friends whom I term as “SMILE” friends. These would be people who you’ll regularly cross and smile to, in effect making them more receptive to you expression. And no one knows, who’s falling in love with you with your smile. For a proof, read my poem based on my true experience 😉

So make it a habit and see how it work wonders for you. Do let me know the results. I will love to hear it from all 🙂

Smile is infectious,

it spreads like a flu.

Pass it on to the world

and see them smiling back to you.

The investment will give returns

during times sadness will overpower you

when someone will smile

you’ll start smiling too.

P.S: If you are a young lad like me, please exercise caution when using this on a pretty girl for obvious reasons. In case you are a young gal, please do it more often to everyone. If nothing else, you may make some guy’s day more merrier. 😉

Responses

  1. nice attempt. i’ll try, for sure. 🙂

  2. what will really work wonders is if u lick ur lips when u look at a girl. seriously.

  3. after reading your post I’m tempted to write one with the title ‘why I stopped smiling’ or rather ‘why I should have stopped smiling’ coz I am very much like what you’ve written. I’ve this ‘bad habit’ of smiling always which only result in unwarranted attention and then if you smile at even at acquaintances in Dilli all you get in return is wooden faces.
    I dont want to douse your enthusiasm .. plz keep smiling : )

  4. hellooo sir….
    bravo.. the ripple effect happenin here… (i use this terminology on the same platform for thy understandinng in more scientific manner… like u always do) 🙂

    i completely agree with aniche… try that out sometime.. nd then tell “us” how that materialised… lolz!

    but more seriously… this is a simple xcercise i have been followin for some time…. nd it does work.. now thats the secret to my “huge” frnz cirle. have struck amazin conversations with alot of different people hanging out in general coffee houses brothe. indeed this xperiment works…

    keep on the gud work bro…! keep ssmiling always!

  5. hellooo sir….
    bravo.. the ripple effect happenin here… (i use this terminology on the same platform for thy understandinng in more scientific manner… like u always do)

    i completely agree with aniche… try that out sometime.. nd then tell “us” how that materialised… lolz!

    but more seriously… this is a simple xcercise i have been followin for some time…. nd it does work.. now thats the secret to my “huge” frnz cirle. have struck amazin conversations with alot of different people hanging out in general coffee houses brothe. indeed this xperiment works…

    keep on the gud work bro…! keep ssmiling always!

  6. Well this is for those who have asked him to always keep smiling…..
    Except for the above given reasons there is one other very important reason for which this guy needs to keep smiling.. For those who dnt knw, he has a very cute dimple which always shws wen he smiles.. So i put in 2 reasons y YOU shud never stop smiling DD

    N dude you n ur blog surely seems to be spreading smiles!!!!

  7. it works undoubtly!

  8. @Nick
    Thanks for stopping by !! Do tell me the result 🙂

    @Aniche
    I can wildly guess the reply !! 😀

    @Aria
    Well, I admit it difficult for girls !! But delhi is not that bad. I love that place a lot. I have lived in GGN for so many years !! It’s bit more soft than you describe ?

  9. @Casper
    You are the one who can actually attempt what ‘Aniche’ suggested 😀
    and man, i still remember ur smiling face. How can I ever forget it 🙂

    @Mrunalini
    Thanks for letting the ‘secret’ out 😉
    I hope that you too keep SMILING for ever !!

    @Jyoti
    I am glad you acquiesce. Thanks for dropping by !! Do come often !!

  10. ohh I never said Dilli is bad .. I love my Dilli!! Just that ppl here don’t smile all that often. I’d observed that on purpose coz I was accused of smiling too much : )

    pS – odd it may sound .. but I’ve never been to GGN .. heh
    anyway tc .. waiting for your next post ..

  11. sir i read the post a couple of days ago…and i thought i shud try first b4 commenting on it…..some how it doesn;t works for me…..coz when ever i smile ,i look smug….and that shuns people away…so i avoid that…lol….its true…

  12. @Aria
    well.. as I said, its more difficult for girls 😉
    and if you haven’t been there, please do !! nice place to hang out with (girl/boy) friends 😀

    @Nilesh
    Dude, i am so srry but i guess you need to be patient. It took me a week to not look like a dumb ass. More over, I was blessed that i meet approximately same people when I walk to office. So that did help the cause.

  13. smile…. 🙂

    and is that true, what mrunalini said… u have a dimple ?? 😀
    wow !!

  14. 🙂

  15. @Neha
    yes, that is true.
    But don’t get carried away. There are a lot many “not-so-wow” things too. For instance, my partial bald head 😀

    @123
    🙂

  16. You brought a smile to my face 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

